Academic Leadership Award

Every two years, Carnegie Corporation of New York chooses exceptional presidents of U.S. colleges and universities to receive the Academic Leadership Award.  Established by the Corporation in 2005, the award recognizes individuals who, in addition to fulfilling their administrative and managerial roles with dedication and creativity, have demonstrated vision and an outstanding commitment to excellence and equity in undergraduate education, the liberal arts, curricular innovation, reform of K-12 education, international engagement, and the promotion of strong links between their institutions and their local communities.

Each honoree’s institution receives a grant of $500,000 to be used toward the winner’s academic initiatives. The Academic Leadership Award was established in recognition of Andrew Carnegie’s vision that education and the diffusion of knowledge are fundamental tools for strengthening the bonds of our society and democracy.

2013 Recipients:

  • Richard H. Brodhead, Duke University
  • Michael M. Crow, Arizona State University
  • John L. Hennessy, Stanford University
  • Beverly Daniel Tatum, Spelman College

Past recipients of the Academic Leadership Award:

  • Henry S. Bienen, Northwestern University
  • Robert J. Birgeneau, University of California, Berkeley
  • Leon Botstein, Bard College
  • Nancy Cantor, Syracuse University
  • Jared L. Cohon, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Scott S. Cowen, Tulane University
  • Matthew Goldstein, The City University of New York
  • Amy Gutmann, University of Pennsylvania
  • Freeman A. Hrabowski III, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • William E. Kirwan, University System of Maryland
  • Eduardo J. Padrón, Miami Dade College
  • Don M. Randel, University of Chicago

Press announcements:

N.B.: Candidates are chosen by an internal committee. The award may not be applied for, and self-nominations are not accepted.